The Church Saints Michel and Gabriel from Rogoz.
The first documentary attestation of the locality is dating in the year 1488 under the name Rogos, the village being part of the domain of the Ciceu Citadel belonging to Stefan cel Mare and other rulers of Moldova. The Church Saints Michel and Gabriel from Rogoz is situated in the cemetery from the valley of the Lapus river, being one of the oldest places of worship of Maramures, built in the year 1663 of huge trunks of elms brought from Dealul Popii. The church from Rogoz is probably the most representative place where the naive Western Gothic meets Romanian traditional orthodoxy and pre-Christian roots of Maramures.
The wooden church “Holy Archangels Michael and Gabriel” is an exceptional example, a testimony of the geniality of anonym artists and of traditional techniques used for the wooden constructions. The perfect beauty of the church, the silhouette and its ornamental language, its spatial conception, the technical realization, all these converge to define a monument of exceptional universal value, a true masterpiece of the genius, a genial creation of peasant artists.
The church of Rogoz has some different features from related buildings. Firstly, it was built with a polygonal narthex, rectangular nave and altar with seven sides. The tower has a square shape and presents 4 small towers on its roof. Also, outside you will find many decorations. The church is famous for its loaded consoles of horse head shape that supports the roof, but also for the wood sculptures on facades. Church painting was created in 1785, as attested by inscriptions in Cyrillic, preserved in the altar.
The roof is asymmetric, to protect Masa Mosilor, situated along of north façade. The table is divided into sections for each rich family from the village and their names are listed on the church wall. Here the elders of the village judged different reason, and on holidays, the families organized meals in the courtyard, giving alms to the poor for the souls of the dead persons.
This church is located in the center of the village, along with another wooden church, "St. Parascheva", brought here from Suciu de Sus village in 1883.